Thursday, April 24, 2008

I Got Five On It

And no, I'm not talking about a dime bag.

In 1969, a theory was published by Dr. Elisabeth Kubler-Ross that postulated five stages of grief that a person systematically falls through when coping with loss. Aptly titled the "Kubler-Ross Model," these stages can be applied to any catastrophic loss experienced by an individual (whether it be loss of a job, loss of a loved one, face of imminent mortality, loss of five bucks, etc.). As previously stated, these stages are systematic, though, they are not necessarily followed numerically, and though not all stages will be present, people will experience at least two. These stages are:
  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

You can believe the good doctor or think this is all just a bunch of bull. It's really your choice. The human mind is a beautifully complex piece of work and trying to understand it can be considered even a pseudo-science, but I guess getting to know one's self is where the appeal lies. If anything, it's a wild and crazy trip, so why not sit back and see where it takes you?

Hmm... I wonder which category buying new camera equipment falls into...

No comments: